Competition winners

Sorry for the delay in getting back re the competition, folks, but it was SO HARD TO CHOSE A WINNER! We had so many terrific entries that every time we decided, yeah, this is the one, we’d think – wait, what about this one, and wince, and start all over again. But we finally came a decision… kind of.

You remember how there was only meant to be one winner who would get a copy of the Irish edition of the book and a flat of the Aus cover? Well in the end, we decided to pick two winners, one of whom will win a copy of the Irish edition and one a copy of the AUS :)

And those winners are…

Mollie Sullivan, who (being Australian!) wins an Irish edition of the book. Here is Mollie’s terrific description of what it might feel like to be a ghost:

It was like holding your breath but never being able to experience the relief of releasing it again. The crawling of your skin was like a million tiny bugs that took pleasure in sending chills through your nervous system when someone swept past. You were as insignificant and as unnoticeable as dust sitting on a window sill; you had to accept that never again would you have the influence to change even the smallest of things that so many humans took for granted. You could only sit, and like a shadow, watch as people made decisions, took paths and journeyed into their future.  Never again could I make that choice, that decision or live in that moment because I was now a ghost; with only memories and no future. 

And Shoko Tomita. Shoko, I’m not sure where you are from, but you have won an Australian version of the book, with the following evocative mini story:

So it’s true! Nobody can see me or touch me. I was almost giddy when I realised I don’t have to follow any of the rules of the universe anymore. Yes I was no longer alive, but I was content with the life lived with so much love. Yes I was young when ‘it’ happened, but I wasn’t a kind of girl who took every day for granted. And I knew, or so I’d thought, my parents would be okay with me gone because I had been happy and lived with no regrets. With the thought of my parents I decided to go visit them and hurriedly teleported to their house. Whatever had made me think they would be okay, I don’t know, but what I saw there was devastating. With all the ‘advantages’ I’ve thought I had as a ghost now worked against me. I couldn’t touch my sobbing mother’s shoulders or do anything for her.  I was helpless. So helpless! My desperation to get anyone to recognise me grew over the following months, which turned into obsession. Then over the years it lost the original meaning.  That was the start of my new life as a haunting ghost.

Congratulations Mollie and Shoko! Please do get back in touch with your postal addresses and I will make certain you get your books as soon as possible :)

-0-

Some of the crowd at launch.

In other news, thanks so much to everyone who turned up to the Dublin Launch of Into the Grey on Tuesday 6th of September. It was incredible to see so many folks there. I hope you had a good time (apologies to those in the anti room who had to stand! I can’t believe we ran out of chairs)

I haven’t had time to write up a post of the night but the lovely Marleen Kennedy did a great job of describing the warmth and happiness of the occasion.

Thanks to the O’Brien Press for hosting the night. And thanks too, to the great Robert Dunbar for his incredible introduction to the book. I am a huge admirer of Robert Dunbar as a critic, and to have heard him speak of my work like that was breathtaking to say the least. If you are interested in reading his full introduction to the book, you can find it here.

I’m not sure which moved me more, the comparison of my work to that of Wilfred Owen, or the way in which Robert Dunbar just totally got the work. As I said on the night, I try first and foremost to tell a good story which I hope folks will enjoy and follow along for the ride. If someone ‘gets’ the rest’ (all the deeper themes, undercurrents, and histories of meaning) then I consider that jam. For Robert Dunbar to have so eloquently and explicitly pinpointed these other aspects of the piece … well, like I said, it left me almost speechless.

Thank you, Robert. Your support means far far more than you can know.

-0-

It may be a little quiet around here for a while now, folks. September/October are children’s literary festival season here in Ireland and I have a very packed calendar for the next eight weeks or so. But I will try hard to stay in touch and I will also try to keep posting the Moorehawke graphic novel pages as often as possible :)

I’ll put a little calender up in the next couple of days, so you know where I will be and when. Maybe we can meet up at one event or another over the next couple of weeks. In the mean time, thank you for your patience and I’ll be back soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Competition winners

  1. Congrats to the winners! Those are amazing writings. :)

    Looks like you had a wonderful turn out! That is great. :) And hope you have a wonderful time with the literary festival.

Leave a Reply

