Sakura Medal, Inkwell Critique Services & Down a New Rabbithole

Mup&CrowWEB It’s only been a couple of weeks since I handed the new book over the the agent and – despite all my good intentions re having a proper rest – I’ve already fallen down the next rabbit hole. This is Mup and her good friend Crow, the two main characters from my latest WiP (a book specifically written for children this time around)

As always, I already feel like the book’s going to kill me. But I love my characters . I’m looking forward to spending the next six or seven months in their company.

There will be more drawings – its just that kind of project

I fully intend to stick to my internet blackout for this project- like I said, doing without the net seems to be the only way to get my scattered brain to focus these days – so it’s going to be a little quiet around here. Before I go though, two nice pieces of news:

1/ Hot on the foot of it having won the 2013 RAI Book of the Year Award, Into the Grey has been shortlisted for the prestigious Sakura Medal (English High Catagory) It’s up against some stiff competition but even being nominated is a great thrill as – like the CBI CHildren’s Choice Award – the shortlisted books (and the winner) are chosen solely by kids based on their enjoyment of the book :)

2/ I’ve accepted a position as a manuscript consultant over at the Inkwell Group who offer a range of services to help authors get their manuscripts ready for submission to agents or publishers. From now on I will be one of the many industry professionals available to critique novels or WiP’s in hopes of bringing them closer to a publishable standard.

OK. That’s all my news.

Back down the rabbit hole with me.

This entry was posted in Allen and unwin, Awards, CBI Book of The Year 2012, CBI Childrens' Choice Award 2012, Illustration, O'Brien Press, Taken Away/Into The Grey, Walker Books, writing, writing workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sakura Medal, Inkwell Critique Services & Down a New Rabbithole

  1. Adorable characters. Love her hat. And congrats on the wonderful news. :)

  2. Ali Isaac says:

    Congratulations and well done! I don’t know how you had the will power to keep away form that interweb thingy, though…I don’t know which I’d find harder to give up, that or chocolate!

Leave a Reply

