The Ending of The Rebel Prince

SPOILERS FOR THE REBEL PRINCE: DON’T READ IF YOU DON’T WANT TO BE SPOILED!

TheRebelPrince

You’re sure?

OK.

So I got a note this morning from a lovely reader in the US who asked me why I’d chosen to end the trilogy the way I did (with a ‘five years later’ epilogue following straight after a scene of intense action) It’s not something I get asked often, but it is something I have been asked before, so I figured I might as well make my answer public :)

Dear ()

It just felt right that way :) I wrote it many different ways – with Razi & Wyn operating on Albi and Chris. With Sól mourning Hally  and protecting Mary. But in the end it always felt better that the reader themself  picture those scenes. The aftermath wasn’t as important to the focus of the story I wanted to tell. To me the story I’d needed to tell had been what happened during the meeting with Razi,  Wyn & Jon and then the terrible attack which followed. The attack is the culmination of all the misunderstandings and distrust which happened during the trilogy, but I felt the epilogue was what was needed in order to round the whole thing off – as that is Wyn’s reward and the results of all her hard work and determination during the trilogy.

Does that make sense?

(PS: a person once wrote to me and said ‘you got tired and just wanted to finish it quickly.’ I confess this hurt. Not because they haven’t the right to feel what they want about the ending – that of course is a reader’s prerogative – but because this misconception dismisses the amount of work and thought which went into it. The ending is such because I fashioned it that way out of choice. I wrote such a lot which I then cut because it felt better to me that way. That isn’t laziness, it’s making a choice to dump months of work because in your heart you feel the story is better told without it :) )

*******

And that’s the answer :)

OK, back to the grind stone.

This entry was posted in Moorehawke, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Ending of The Rebel Prince

  1. Ali Isaac says:

    I totally agree that some parts of a story are best left to the reader’s imagination. If there is no scope for this to happen, how can the reader ever fully engage with it? I love it when the end of a book has a somewhat ambiguous finish, and I have to make up my own mind about that happened; it’s quite unsettling and can leave you guessing for days…weeks even! Having said that, there are some people who like to have everything spelled out clearly with the story neatly packaged up at the end. A reader might not understand just how much work goes into what goes unsaid, as to what goes on the page.

  2. I really liked the jump in time. It gave me a feel for a real ending to the story. Their lives go on and we see where they find themselves.

Leave a Reply

