Speaking of covers…

Look what the O’Brien Press sent me last week! The cover for the Irish edition* of Into The Grey. Squeeee. Isn’t it the business? It’s going to be all shimmery and fog wreathed and special effects-ish apparently. Cannot wait to hold it in my jammy paws.

I’m still fiddling about with edits on this baby, but to celebrate this lovely morsel of cover-nom-noms I thought I’d put up a wee extract. The book has moments from WW1 France (see teeny extract on Goodreads) and also from 1974 Skerries (Ireland). This extract finds us with the 1974 protagonist, Patrick, as he wakes in the middle of the night to find his twin brother Dom missing from their room*. Hope you like it.

BTW, in a twist of international quirkiness, this book will be called Taken Away** in AUS/NZ! Cant wait to see that cover!

Irish cover and title for September's YA ghost novel.

*an early edition of this was posted on insideadog in 2009.

** and not Only Living Souls as originally thought!

This entry was posted in Allen and unwin, Illustration, O'Brien Press and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Speaking of covers…

  1. raych says:

    So, so good (both the cover and the extract). I await with tenterhooks.

  2. Oh, this sounds really good! I read the excerpt you have here and really like the sounds of it. And a goblin! 🙂 I love that idea. Thank you for sharing this. It looks amazing!

    Will the book be released in US as well?

    • Thanks, Melissa! I’m so glad you liked it.
      I have no idea about a US release – this is a very very different read to the Moorehawke books so I’m not sure of the potential distribution :)All I know at the moment is that it is due for a September release in Ireland and Aus/NZ.

  3. Well, I wish you all the best with the book there in Ireland & Aus/NZ. Sounds like a great read. 🙂

    It is different from Moorehawke series, but I’ve started to get into the goblin stories and some Irish mythology as well. 🙂 If you get to the USA with it, I’ll be looking. 🙂

    Thank you!

  4. Pingback: This is what I’m at right now. | All Things Moorehawke and Otherwise

Leave a Reply

