Page Four, roughs.

Find all pages here

Christopher grows up in Aidan Garron’s care.

This is a far more complex page than the others and it took me a while to do. I began to panic about that, before realising that I was trying to do way too much with the colours. These are just roughs after all! So I stripped everything back down and actually am much happier with it that way. I’m finding I very much like this loose, almost casual use of colour. The top panel still has a bit of complexity left in it and the more I look at it the less I like it when compared to the rest of the page. I will definitely keep a freer hand with the next one.

(high res versions of all can be found on my DA gallery where you can navigate from page to page – but you need to press the PREVIOUS button to see them in order (go figure!))

This entry was posted in Illustration, Moorehawke, Moorehawke webcomic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Page Four, roughs.

  1. The top panel has a tighter drawing of the surroundings, more than the rest of the page.

    But I like the surrounding in it as it gives the feel of the family feel and tightness of the “pack” feeling here with Aiden.

    I love the feeling of the family here with Aiden. And he seems like a kind person. Great to teach Christopher all the great things in life, and to be kind. 🙂

    Wonderful job here!

    • Thanks Melissa. I’m really trying to keep a loose hand with these – mostly because I want to get it roughed out entirely before I need to get back to writing, and the older Chris gets the more detailed the drawing will be – I need to train myself to spend not so much time on the colour roughs.

  2. miss elise says:

    Oh the dogs… happy sigh!

Leave a Reply

