Me, John Boyne, Paul Murray and Conor Kostick, Reading

The Ireland Literature Exchange have asked that myself, John Boyne (The Boy In Striped Pyjamas) Paul Murray (Skippy Dies) and Conor Kostick (Epic) read from our work as part of the Europe Week celebrations. It’s to celebrate those Irish authored works for young adults that have been translated into different languages, and apparently our readings in English will be followed by the same section read in translation. (How thrilling!) I will be reading from The Moorehawke Trilogy ( though I haven’t yet chosen a section)

The venue will be The Culture Box in Temple Bar (which, as far as I know, is straight across the road from Meeting House Sq) On May 10th at 12.45. If you’re in the area drop in and say hi, I’d love to meet you🙂

This entry was posted in events. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Me, John Boyne, Paul Murray and Conor Kostick, Reading

  1. melissamyworldinwordsandpages says:

    That is exciting! Do have a great time.🙂

  2. Oh, that sounds very exciting. Would love to be able to go and listen/see/experience. Hmmm, May 10th would be a Thursday so I would be working that evening from five so in theory I should be able to get to Dublin and back to Bailieborough in time. Maybe, just maybe…

  3. interpreterx says:

    How do you decide what makes a good section to read from? It seems daunting!

    • Heeee! I just answered this question on facebook. Here’s what I said… Sometimes I ask the organisers what they would like ( especially with something like an ILE event. Last event I did with them was a meeting of international translators and they were interested in discussing the challenges presented to the translator by works which used non-standard English. My use of colloquiallisms and made up syntaxes and dialect meant that my work is considered challenging so I chose a suitably illustrative passage to read and then discuss with the translators ( That was a fascinating event – I learned so much at it! PLUS I got to hear Sebastian Barry read which was such a treat for me because I’m a squealing fangurl)) Sometimes (for YA based events) it’s based on the age group who will be attending and the entertainment factor needed to keep them engaged🙂 And sometimes (for a fantasy convention for example) you can chose a reading that combines the two things as much of the audience will be made up of writers who may wish to discuss themes, or how one approaches the craft etc. It’s all great fun most of the time, and something I’m always very honoured to be asked to do🙂

Leave a Reply

