Moorehawke en francais and a little yellowbrickreads

Well, I had a terrific time at the Culture box readings yesterday. Many thanks to Sinéad MacAodha and all at the ILE and the Culture Box & Temple Bar Cultural Trust for organising the event. Somehow I managed not to fall over and die of nerves, PLUS we ran out of chairs!!!!!(I couldn’t believe it!)

Many many thanks too, to Anne Natchke, the wonderful French woman that ILE found to read from the French version of Moorehawke. I just thought she gave an amazing reading! I only wish that I could share it with you, but though a video was shot at the event, it has such terrible sound quality it would simply not do justice to Anne’s performance. If you’d like to see her perform though, she is doing another reading soon, from Peter Cunninghams’ LA MER ET LE SILENCE on Thursday 24th of May at 6.30pm. For more details contact The Alliance Francais

The ILE had also asked that I read from my more recent work. I must say, it did feel strange to stand up and read from my next book, Resonance, as it is not due on the shelves until May of next year. I was wary of spoilers, and there had been some lip biting and humming and hawing between myself and my publishers as to which section I’d choose, but in the end I simply read the first few pages of the very first chapter. It seemed to go down very well with the audience which was a great thrill and relief! Strangely, I feel like Resonance is a real book now. As if somehow, by virtue of my having read it aloud,  it’s alive and breathing whereas before it was just a phantom: something which might easily slip away from me as if I’d only dreamed it.

Yay for that!

I’d like to also thank Meave Tynan over at Yellow Brick Reads for our recent, very enjoyable chat about Moorehawke, Into the Grey, Resonance, and writing in general. Here is a small section of that interview:

Though the Moorehawke trilogy is set in an alternative Renaissance Europe, it deviates from much European fantasy work in the emphasis it places on the (sometimes fraught) interactions between people of different cultures, languages and traditions. Was this intentional?

 Yes, absolutely. One of the things I wanted to explore in Moorehawke was how difficult it can be to maintain consensus in a society where differences are tolerated and where multiculturalism is embraced. Tolerance is easily preached, but not so easily lived and  I wanted to be realistic about the fact that there is no one correct answer to the world’s problems, and no one perfect way of living. Societal stability is fragile and peace is something that can only be achieved (if it is achievable at all) when all sides make a genuine effort to understand and accommodate those who they may be naturally inclined to despise. Every person in Moorehawke has their own view of how their very real problems should be solved. As an author I tried very hard not to step in with any moral judgements – there is no specially wonderful, shiningly prescient character in these books who the reader can cheerfully follow knowing they are the one who has all the answers (if only everyone would listen to them!). For the problems in Moorehawke to be solved, in so far as they can be solved, there needed to be less of the one true hero trope, and more of a combination of individual compromises than is (probably) usual in fantasy politics.
Next week I will be visiting the teachers and pupils in Kings Hospital Secondary School, Palmerstown. They’ve been reading Into The Greyas part of the CBI Awards Shadowing scheme and it would seem they want a word with me about it. Hmmmmm… I hope I’m not in trouble! Ah well, trouble or not, I need to get down to work now. This next book won’t write itself. Back to the grind!
This entry was posted in events, Interviews, Moorehawke, Resonance, Taken Away/Into The Grey, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

