Primo…

As always, I’m sketching as I write. This is one of my current main characters, from this scene:

Primo hunkered on the branch by my side. The vertical spaces of the orchard plummeted away below us, and we gazed down into glistening blue as if trying to find our friend with our minds. The ground was lost to sight this high up, the trees simply fading away into a shifting haze of colour.
‘Where can she be?’ said Primo, a real edge of worry to his voice now.

This entry was posted in Illustration, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Primo…

  1. Oh, I’m taken by all the markings on Primo. And now I’m wondering about who they are looking for and why. Thank you!

  2. StefanieEmmy says:

    The blue body-paintings remind me of the picts, although they didn’t have there whole bodys painted I think. And the trees doesn’t really look like Scotland, so that ones out – I probably will go on puzzling which place you choose as setting for this story😉 Anyway I am really happy that you are writing your next book! Last Sunday I re-read The Poison Throne and I still love everything about it, especially your character building and storytelling. Absolutely great!😀

    • Oh my, thank you so much. I can’t tell you how wonderful it feels when I hear my work has been read and then re-read!

      The WiP is total second world fantasy, and setting wise – though I’ve chosen to give almost all the characters some form of Italian name – it has nothing at all to do with the world as we know it. I stripped the setting almost directly from the script of my Thomas Clarke Goes to War script, though the story itself has very little to do with the graphic novel🙂 I think it’s the most difficult project I’ve ever worked on, to be honest with you. It’s not hung so directly on a plot ( being more about emotions and subtle oppression and the slow coming together of small moments to make a largeness) and so the skeleton is far more delicate and easier to break than any of my other stories, I need to write carefully and slowly. The characters too, are so far outside of my own thinking that I keep having to quell the urge to impose myself on them – I need to allow them move within their own thought processes and beliefs without any overt judgement or authorial interference from me (they are very religious, for example, which I am not, and they live in an unquestioningly inward looking, reverential world – it’s difficult not to put my oar in and shake up their quiet acceptance of things)

      I have no idea if I can pull it off. But I’m determined to try!

      (PS: I think – though not sure – that the picts did paint their entire bodies! Weren’t they the lads who bleached their hair and went to war naked? Or an I mixing them up with someone else?)

Leave a Reply

