James & the Wreck of the Happy Shark

click for high res versionclick for high res versionimg091

I’m spending a lot of time scanning and sending artwork at the moment (storyboarding for an animated short) In the process I found these scans of an old picturebook project. Thought I might as well share them! I wrote this book for my son who was obsessed with squids and whales and all things submarine at the time🙂 I never did get it off the ground – but I’m very fond of it. I wonder what happened the original art-work of these?

This entry was posted in Illustration, random doodlings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to James & the Wreck of the Happy Shark

  1. SJ O'Hart says:

    Amazing work! I’d love to see this book published. I love the image of the squid and the whale – the look in the squid’s eye is priceless. Thanks for sharing these – they’re wonderful.

  2. Oh wow. These are wonderful. And squids huh? I think your daughter had a thing with octopus, or still does after seeing her cake top?

  3. Eva G says:

    Wow. These really caught my attention. I wonder if you were just ahead of your time. I could totally see a book like this being published today – both the art and the subject. The artwork reminds me of an early reader/chapter book I used to read to my children called, Keep the Lights Burning, Abby! about a girl and a lighthouse.

Leave a Reply

