Some old style animation (this is what’s been keeping me quiet)

click for high res version

Hi guys,

I know I’ve been terribly quiet here for a while (though you can still catch me on twitter occasionally) I was actually animating again for a while.  I thought I’d share a little scene so you can see what I’ve been up to (click the gif to see it full res)

As you can see this is old style animation, fully drawn by hand frame by frame just like when I was a baby-animator. They just don’t make them like this any more and it’s been a real thrill to be pulled out of mothballs to help out.

(The project is City of Roses, a beautiful short by Andrew Kavanagh, which is being made with the support of Frameworks here in Ireland. (see these links if you’d like to keep up with its progress: CITY OF ROSES FACEBOOK  & CITY OF ROSES TWITTER)

I was thinking I might like to do a few wee animated gifs like this for Resonance when it comes out in April. It’s going to be a busy year though (my butcher’s apprenticeship starts this week, and I need to finish writing & illustrating Begone the Raggedy Witches) so I make no promises!

This entry was posted in animation, Illustration, Resonance, WiP. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some old style animation (this is what’s been keeping me quiet)

  1. Oh it would be really neat to see a few gifs like this for Resonance. Kinda bring the story to life for us.🙂 Take care!

  2. Melissa says:

    This is just beautiful! I love your animation style.

Leave a Reply

