Putting the world in WorldCon

עוד דף אחד ודי

Look! It’s a post in English!

Mary Robinette Kowal linked to this statistical analysis of Hugo winners past, posted by Aidan Walsh: http://aidanrwalsh.com/2015/04/16/whose-rocket/

At the end of which, Aidan commented: “Nationality really surprised me. Unfortunately I expected women to be poorly represented, but I didn’t realise how overwhelmingly American it was. (maybe naivety on my part!)

And Mary commented: “Wow. We really need more world in WorldCon.

And I rolled my eyes.

Yes, there is an American bias in the Hugo awards. There is an American bias at cons in general. In fact I would argue that Science Fiction*, as we think of it today, is at its core an American genre. Other cultures and other languages contributed to the foundation of Science Fiction, and I do not downplay the importance of creators such as Jules Verne, Karel Čapek or Stanisław Lem. But the current fandom culture represented at cons, especially those cons more inclusive of film…

View original post 1,343 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

